Department News

Thu, 2015-02-12 11:39
When the Universe has a long, long history of 13.8 billion years, how close can we pin point when the first stars...
Mon, 2015-01-19 17:21
(via UBC Science) University of British Columbia physicists have detected 'charge ordering' in electron-doped cuprate...
Thu, 2015-01-15 18:14
We lost a great young physicist earlier this week. PHAS graduate student Stephanie Grothe passed away in a climbing...
Thu, 2015-01-08 11:06
[via news.ubc.ca] In an interstellar race against time, astronomers have measured the space-time warp in the gravity of...
Thu, 2014-12-18 10:25
“It could be a miniature version of the ice giant planet Neptune,” said PHAS Professor and the chief scientist with...
Syndicate content

Upcoming Events

IsoSiM CREATE Seminars
no one
Sat, 2015-02-28 00:15
Astronomy Colloquia
Christa Van Laerhoven
Mon, 2015-03-02 15:30
In planetary systems with more than one planet, gravitational interactions cause orbital eccentricity variations. For...
IsoSiM CREATE Seminars
Jens Lassen (TRIUMF)
Wed, 2015-03-04 16:00
  With laser resonance ionization spectroscopy an element selective, highly efficient ion source is available for on-...
Upcoming Other Talks
See description
Sat, 2015-03-07 08:30
Every year teams from high schools across British Columbia will compete for medals in 6 science events, and the school...
Upcoming Other Talks
Mon, 2015-03-09 08:30
  The departmental open house for admitted graduate students is your opportunity to visit the campus and get to know...
Syndicate content
Website development by Checkmark Media. Designed by Armada.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
6224 Agricultural Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel 604.822.3853
Fax 604.822.5324

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia