Department News

Thu, 2014-10-30 10:13
Three major proposals from the Department of Physics & Astronomy are funded by the BC Knowledge Development Fund (...
Fri, 2014-10-10 09:18
Engineering Physics student Afshin Haidari-Khabbaz was recently awarded the Tim Mott Electronic Arts Scholarship....
Mon, 2014-09-15 23:00
PHAS Astronomer Dr. Harvey Richer has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Congratulations Harvey!...
Fri, 2014-08-22 11:08
We are saddened by the news that Prof. Karl Erdman, a long-time member of the PHAS faculty, passed away on August 11th...
Wed, 2014-08-13 11:34
(Report by Dr. Andrzej Kotlicki) The 45th International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) was held from July 12th to 21st in...
Syndicate content

Upcoming Events

Astronomy Colloquia
Catherine Johnson (UBC)
Mon, 2014-11-24 15:30
Mercury is the only inner solar system body other than Earth to possess an active core dynamo-driven magnetic field,...
Grad Theses
NATASHA HOLMES
Wed, 2014-11-26 12:30
ABSTRACT: Many undergraduate labs engage students in experimentation without developing critical thinking or...
Department Colloquia
Peter Palffy-Muhoray, Kent State University
Thu, 2014-11-27 16:00
Liquid crystals, discovered some 125 years ago, are orientationally ordered soft materials. Although they have received...
Astronomy Colloquia
TBA
Rachel Friesen
Mon, 2014-12-01 16:00
Condensed Matter Seminars
Yehuda Dinaii, Weizmann Institute
Thu, 2014-12-04 14:00
In this talk I will discuss the phenomena of dephasing and phase lapses as they occur in two setups operating in the...
Syndicate content
Website development by Checkmark Media. Designed by Armada.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
6224 Agricultural Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel 604.822.3853
Fax 604.822.5324

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia