Department News

Fri, 2015-06-26 11:00
(via news.ubc.ca) UBC welcomed quantum physicist Jennifer Hoffman today as its newest Canada Excellence Research Chair...
Thu, 2015-06-04 20:21
(from UBC Science) Physicists have painted an in-depth portrait of charge ordering—an electron self-organization regime...
Mon, 2015-06-01 11:58
Peter was a Lincolnshire lad.  His very first memory was of pushing a ball between the rails of a third-floor flat in...
Thu, 2015-05-28 10:36
UBC Physics and Astronomy students had a strong showing in oral talks and poster presentations at the recent American...
Wed, 2015-05-27 11:37
The Department of Physics & Astronomy recently received the certificate of Recognition by Canadian Forces Liaison...
Syndicate content

Upcoming Events

Grad Theses
ROCKY YAT CHEUNG SO
Mon, 2015-07-06 09:00
ABSTRACT: In the Standard Model of particle physics, the Higgs boson is an elementary particle required to explain...
Grad Theses
JESSICA (JES) FORD
Tue, 2015-07-07 09:00
ABSTRACT: Clusters of galaxies offer a unique window for studying the Universe on the largest scales. As the most...
Grad Theses
OMID NOURBAKHSH
Thu, 2015-07-09 16:00
ABSTRACT There are many unexplored Physical phenomena in low temperature Physics. In the world of cold (1mK -1K) and...
Grad Theses
NIKITA BLINOV
Mon, 2015-07-13 12:30
ABSTRACT Despite their phenomenological successes, the Standard Models (SMs) of particle physics and cosmology remain...
Astronomy Colloquia
TBA
Elisabeth Mills (Jansky Fellow)
Mon, 2015-10-05 15:30
Syndicate content
Website development by Checkmark Media. Designed by Armada.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
6224 Agricultural Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel 604.822.3853
Fax 604.822.5324

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia