Researchers & Instructors

People in the department are listed alphabetically according to their role at the university.  
We also list researchers according to the research interests in the Research Areas pages. 
Name Title Email Phone Number
Ian Affleck University Killam Professor iaffleck@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2137
Jonathan Bagger Professor / Director of TRIUMF bagger@phas.ubc.ca (604) 222-7353
Simon Bates Professor of Teaching simon.bates@ubc.ca (604) 827-4494
Mona Berciu Professor berciu@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6146
Aaron Boley Assistant Professor acboley@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-2641
Douglas Bonn Professor bonn@physics.ubc.ca
Douglas Bryman Professor/Warren Chair bryman@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-0584
Sarah Burke Associate Professor saburke@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-8796
James Charbonneau Instructor james@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-2378
Matthew Choptuik Professor choptuik@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2412
Andrea Damascelli Professor damascelli@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4551
Joshua Folk Associate Professor jfolk@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2535
Marcel Franz Professor franz@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6533
Colin Gay Professor and Head cgay@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3150 / (604) 822-2753
Brett Gladman Professor gladman@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6244
Mark Halpern Professor halpern@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6435
Carl Hansen Associate Professor chansen@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-3229
Michael Hasinoff Professor, UG Chair hasinoff@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2360
Christopher Hearty Professor/IPP Scientist hearty@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-9163
Jeremy Heyl Professor heyl@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-0995
Paul Hickson Professor hickson@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6706
Gary Hinshaw Professor/Graduate Chair hinshaw@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-4063
Javed Iqbal Dir. Sci. Co-op/Adjunct Prof. iqbal@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2465
Joss Ives Instructor 1 joss@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-2633
David Jones Associate Professor djjones@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2754
Joanna Karczmarek Associate Professor joanna@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2929
Robert Kiefl Professor kiefl@triumf.ca (604) 822-3037
Evert Koster Term Faculty Member evko@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2559
Andrzej Kotlicki Term Faculty Member kotlicki@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3645
Reiner Kruecken Professor Reiner.Kruecken@triumf.ca (604) 222-7365
Alison Lister Associate Professor alister@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-9240
Domingo Louis-Martinez Instructor 1 (on leave) martinez@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5864
Alex MacKay Professor mackay@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6447
Kirk Madison Associate Professor madison@physics.ubc.ca (604) 827-5078
Andre Marziali Professor andre@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5489
Jaymie Matthews Professor matthews@astro.ubc.ca (604) 822-2696
Thomas Mattison Associate Professor mattison@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-9690
Janis McKenna Professor janis@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4337
Carl Michal Associate Professor michal@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2432
Valery Milner Associate Professor vmilner@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3399
Scott Oser Professor oser@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3191
Steven Plotkin Associate Professor steve@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-8813
Arman Rahmim Associate Professor rahmim@phas.ubc.ca (604) 675-8262
Robert Raussendorf Associate Professor raussen@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3253
Stefan Reinsberg Associate Professor reinsberg@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2925
Harvey Richer Professor richer@astro.ubc.ca (604) 822-4134
Georg Rieger Instructor 1 rieger@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4269
Joerg Rottler Professor jrottler@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3510
Moshe Rozali Professor rozali@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3581
George Sawatzky Professor sawatzky@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3540
Kristin Schleich Associate Professor schleich@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6286
Douglas Scott Professor dscott@astro.ubc.ca (604) 822-2802
Gordon Semenoff Professor gordonws@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5947
Kris Sigurdson Associate Professor krs@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5879
Vesna Sossi Professor vesna@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3771
Ingrid Stairs Professor stairs@astro.ubc.ca (604) 822-6796
Philip Stamp Professor stamp@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5711
Jared Stang Lecturer jared@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5527
William Unruh Professor unruh@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3273
Mark Van Raamsdonk Professor mav@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2136
Ludovic Van Waerbeke Professor waerbeke@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5515
Chris Waltham Professor cew@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5712
Lorne Whitehead Professor whitehed@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3075
Don Witt Senior Instructor donwitt@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2294
Ziliang Ye Assistant Professor zlye@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-2984
Jeff Young Professor young@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-8779
Ariel Zhitnitsky Professor arz@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5388
Fei Zhou Professor feizhou@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5098
Ke Zou Assistant Professor kzou@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-9955
Name Title Email Phone Number
John Behr TRIUMF Res.Sc./Adjunct, PHAS behr@triumf.ca (604) 222-1047 x6371
Alanah Bergman Graduate Supervisor abergman@bccancer.bc.ca (604) 877-6000
Anna Celler Associate Member aceller@physics.ubc.ca (604) 875-5252 fax:875-4319
Jens Dilling Adjunct Professor/TRIUMF jdilling@triumf.ca (604) 222-7413
Cheryl Duzenli Adjunct Professor cduzenli@bccancer.bc.ca
Nancy Ford Associate Member nlford@dentistry.ubc.ca (604) 822-6641
Shannon Kolind Associate Member shannon.kolind@ubc.ca (604) 822-7773
Piotr Kozlowski Associate Member Piotr.Kozlowski@ubc.ca (604) 827-3974 / 827-3970
Corree Laule Associate Member claule@phas.ubc.ca (604) 675-8855
Calum MacAulay Associate Member cmacaula@bccancer.bc.ca (604) 877-6098 x3109 fax:877-6077
Andrew MacFarlane Associate Member wam@chem.ubc.ca (604) 822-6866
Vitali Moiseenko Adjunct Professor vmoiseenko@ucsd.edu (604) 877-6000 x2100
Takamasa Momose Associate Member momose@chem.ubc.ca (604) 822-2847
John Ng Adjunct Professor misery@triumf.ca (604) 822-5955
Karl Otto Adjunct Professor kotto@phas.ubc.ca
Tony Popescu Adjunct Professor tpopescu@bccancer.bc.ca (604) 877-6000 x2046
Alexander Rauscher Associate Member rauscher@physics.ubc.ca (604) 827-5462
Oliver Stelzer-Chilton Adjunct Professor stelzer-chilton@triumf.ca (604) 222-7681
Jasper Wall Adjunct Professor jvw@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-4269
Qing-San Xiang Associate Member xiang@physics.ubc.ca (604) 875-2131
Stan Yen Adjunct Professor stan@triumf.ca (604) 222-7414
Haishan Zeng Associate Member hzeng@bccrc.ca (604) 877-6098 x3011
Name Title Email Phone Number
Tarek Anous Postdoctoral Fellow tarek@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-
Fabio Boschini Postdoctoral Fellow boschini@phas.ubc.ca TBA
Daniel Carney Postdoctoral Research Fellow carney@phas.ubc.ca TBA
Shun Chi Postdoctoral Fellow shun@phas.ubc.ca TBA
David Cortie Postdoctoral Fellow cortie@triumf.ca (604) 222-1047
Matthias Danninger Postdoctoral Fellow danning@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-7974
James Day Research Associate jday@phas.ubc.ca
Electra Eleftheriadou Postdoctoral Fellow electra@phas.ubc.ca TBA
Wojtek Fedorko Research Associate wfedorko@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-7974
Torben Ferber Postdoctoral Fellow ferber@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-1445
Tom Feusels Postdoctoral Fellow tfeusels@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-1047 ext. 6492
Silvia Folk Research Associate luescher@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-4334
Oleksandr foyevtsov Postdoctoral Fellow foyevtsov@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2535
Kateryna Foyevtsova Postdoctoral Fellow foyevtsova@phas.ubc.ca N/A
Cisco Gooding Postdoctoral Fellow cgooding@phas.ubc.ca TBA
James Gordon Postdoctoral Research Fellow jbgordon@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2945
Robert Green Postdoctoral Fellow rgreen@phas.ubc.ca N/A
Will Gunton Postdoctoral Fellow wgunton@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-6356
Felix Haehl Postdoctoral Fellow felix@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-
Nik Hartman Postdoctoral Fellow nhartman@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2535
Eliot Hijano Postdoctoral Fellow ehijano@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-
Alex Hill Research Associate ashill@phas.ubc.ca (250) 497-2356
Ewan Hill Postdoctoral Research Fellow ehill@mail.ubc.ca (604) 822-1445
Fuhao Ji Postdoctoral Fellow fuhaoji@qmi.ubc.ca (604) 822-8210
Steven Johnston Postdoctoral Fellow johnstss@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2945
Mohsen Keshavarz Akhlaghi Postdoctoral Fellow akhlaghi@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2332
Sepideh Khosravi Simchi Postdoctoral Fellow sepideh@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-6843
Kyle Lawson Postdoctoral Fellow klawson@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3816
F Giorgio Levy de Castro Research Associate levyg@phas.ubc.ca
Fengmiao Li Postdoctoral Fellow fengmiao.li@qmi.ubc.ca N/A
Luke McAlary Postdoctoral Fellow lmcalary@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3816
Jennifer McDonald Sessional Lecturer mcdonald@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-0995
Alexander Mead Postdoctoral Fellow mead@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-8870
Matteo Michiardi Postdoctoral Fellow mmichiardi@phas.ubc.ca N/A
Arthur Mills Research Associate millsak@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-2894
Alexander Milner Research Associate amilner@phas.ubc.ca (604) 827-4064
Eric Mintun Postdoctoral Fellow mintun@phas.ubc.ca TBA
Michele Mossman Research Associate mmossman@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5022
Cihan Okay Postdoctoral Fellow okay@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5527
Xubiao Peng Postdoctoral Fellow xubiaopeng@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822- 3816
Jason Pollack Postdoctoral Fellow jpollack@phas.ubc.ca (604) 720-7946
Elia Razzoli Postdoctoral Research Fellow razzoli@phas.ubc.ca TBA
Agustin Schiffrin Postdoctoral Fellow aschiffr@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-1325
Richard Shaw Postdoctoral Fellow richard@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5033
Linda Strubbe Postdoctoral Fellow linda@phas.ubc.ca 604 822 5527
Kou Takubo Postdoctoral Fellow takubo@phas.ubc.ca NA
Christa Van Laerhoven Postdoctoral Fellow cvl@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-6442
Belina Von Krosigk Postdoctoral Fellow bkrosigk@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-1047 x6565
Dongsheng Wang Postdoctoral Fellow wds@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3872
Benson Way Postdoctoral Fellow benson@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-
Donald Wiebe Postdoctoral Fellow dvw@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-6709
Bingkai Yuan Postdoctoral Fellow bingkai@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-
Name Title Email Phone Number
Boye Ahlborn Professor Emeritus ahlborn@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-9714
Mandana Amiri FPGA Development Engineer mandana@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-2585
David Axen Professor Emeritus axen@triumf.ca (604) 822-6327
Sonia Bacca Honorary Lecturer bacca@triumf.ca (604) 222-7372
David Balzarini Professor Emeritus balzarin@physics.ubc.ca
Frances Bates Senior Instructor Emerita elf@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6744
Mario Beaudoin Research Associate beaudoin@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-1853
Birger Bergersen Professor Emeritus bergersenbirger@gmail.com
Thor Bjarnason Honorary Lecturer thor@physics.ubc.ca (250) 826-0722
Stephan Blinder Part time sessional lecturer blinder@phas.ubc.ca
Jesse Brewer Professor Emeritus jess@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4360
James Carolan Professor Emeritus carolan@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5527
Scott Chapman Affiliate Professor Scott.Chapman@Dal.Ca N/A
Frank Curzon Professor Emeritus curzon@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4360
Ronald Dong Honorary Professor rondong@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3898
Pinder Dosanjh Research Engineer dosanjh@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-1997
John Eldridge Professor Emeritus eldridge@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4360
Evan Evans Professor Emeritus evans@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-7103
Katie Foote Science Education Specialist kfoote@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5527
Philip Gregory Professor Emeritus gregory@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6341
Walter Hardy Professor Emeritus hardy@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-1997
John Hepburn Professor, current VP Research hepburn@chem.ubc.ca
Jenny Hoffman Affiliate Professor jhoffman@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-5831
Geoffrey Hoffmann Professor Emeritus hoffmannvancouver@gmail.com (604) 734-7521
William Hsieh Professor Emeritus whsieh@eos.ubc.ca (604) 822-2821
Richard Johnson Professor Emeritus rrj@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-3771
Garth Jones Professor Emeritus jones@phas.ubc.ca
Alina Kulpa Sessional Lecturer / RA AMPEL alina@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5106
Harry Lam Honorary Professor lam@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-0330
Peter Martin Professor Emeritus pwmartin137@gmail.com
Sandy Martinuk Sessional Lecturer martinuk@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-5527
William McCutcheon Professor Emeritus mccutche@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-6234
Malcolm McMillan Professor Emeritus mcmillan@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4360
T. K. Menon Professor Emeritus menon@astro.ubc.ca (604) 822-0330
Jochen Meyer Professor Emeritus meyer@physics.ubc.ca
David Morrissey Sessional Lecturer dmorri@triumf.ca
Andrew Ng Professor Emeritus nga@physics.ubc.ca
Irving Ozier Professor Emeritus ozier@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-9714
Robert Parsons Professor Emeritus parsons@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-3438
Marcello Pavan Sessional Lecturer marcello@phas.ubc.ca
Temporary Researcher Website Test Account tliao@phas.ubc.ca
Luda Tchvialeva Honorary Lecturer ltchvial@bccrc.ca (604) 675-8000 x7055
Brian Turrell Professor Emeritus turrell@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4360
Gordon Walker Professor Emeritus gordonwa@uvic.ca (250) 592-6205
Bruce White Professor Emeritus asbw@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4360
David Williams Professor Emeritus williams@physics.ubc.ca (604) 822-4219
Jim Zibin Honorary Research Associate zibin@phas.ubc.ca (604) 822-8568
Website development by Checkmark Media. Designed by Armada.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
6224 Agricultural Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel 604.822.3853
Fax 604.822.5324

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia