EnPh 270: Rigid body dynamics in two dimensions

Schedule and practical information


Prerequisites: EnPh 170.

Announcements: Final exam coming up on Friday, June 27, 10AM (120 min)

Time and location: The class takes place T/Th 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201. The tutorial is on Friday, same place at 10 AM. Start date: May 13, 2014. End date: June 27, 2013

Midterm: Thursday, June 5, 8:30AM in Hennings 201.

Exam: Friday, June 27, 2014, 10:00 AM am-12:00 noon in Hennings 201.

Credits: 2.

Grading: 25% test exams (work/ group work in the tutorials), 15% Mastering Engineering homework assignments, 20% midterm, 40% final exam.

Office hour: My office hour is Tuesdays 5-6 pm (Hennings 338) [adjustable].

Book: Engineering Mechanics, Statics and Dynamics, by R.C. Hibbeler (UBC custom edition is recommended, but any edition will work).

`Mastering Engineering' software: In addition to Hibbeler's book, you will need Mastering Engineering, a web-based software that will be used for homework assignments. Mastering Engineering can be purchased either in a package with Hibbeler's book or separately.

Lecture Notes:

Course outline


We cover chapters 16 to 18 of Hibbeler's book.

Past & future lectures


Tuesday, May 13. Kinematics (Ch. 16 in Hibbeler). Translation and Rotation: Position, velocity and acceleration. General plane motion: velocity. See Sections 16.1, 16.2, 16.3, 16.5.

Thursday, May 15. General plane motion: the instantaneous center of rotation. See Sections 16.6.

Friday, May 16. Tutorial test 1.

Tuesday, May 20. General plane motion: acceleration. See Hibbeler Section 16.7.

Thursday, May 22. General plane motion: Relative motion analysis using rotating axes. See Hibbeler, Section 16.8.

Friday, May 23. Tutorial test 2.

Tuesday, May 27. Continued: General plane motion: Relative motion analysis using rotating axes. See Hibbeler, Section 16.8. Examples.

Thursday, May 29. Tutorial test 3.

Friday, May 23. Lecture: The planar equations of motion: derivation from Newton's axioms.

Tuesday, June 3. Examples: The planar equations of motion.

Thursday, June 5. MIDTERM 8:30AM - 10AM.

Friday, June 6. Lecture: Mass moment of inertia.

Tuesday, June 10. EoM Examples: Rotation about a fixed axis and general plane motion (Chs. 17.4 amd 17.5).

Thursday, June 12. The tilting forklift problem.

Friday, June 13. Tutorial: the tilting forklift continued.

Tuesday, June 17. Ch 18: Energy, potential and kinetic.

Thursday, June 19. Energy conservation. [END OF COURSE MATERIAL]

Friday, June 20. Tutorial 5.

Tuesday, June 24. Review I

Thursday, June 26. Review II

Friday, June 27. FINAL EXAM: 10:00AM - 12:00 noon (Hennings 201)