Phys 270: Rigid body dynamics in two dimensions

Schedule and practical information


Prerequisites: Phys 170.

Time and location: The class takes place T/Th 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201. The tutorial is on Friday, same place at 10 AM. Start date: May 14, 2013. End date: June 27, 2013

Midterm: Friday, June 7, 10AM in Hennings 201.

Exam: Friday, June 28, 2013, 10:00 AM am-12:00 noon in Hennings 201.

Credits: 2.

Grading: 25% test exams (work/ group work in the tutorials), 15% Mastering Engineering homework assignments, 20% midterm, 40% final exam.

Office hour: My office hour is Wednesdays 5:15-6:15 pm (Hennings 338).

Book: Engineering Mechanics, Statics and Dynamics, by R.C. Hibbeler (UBC custom edition is recommended, but any edition will work).

`Mastering Engineering' software: In addition to Hibbeler's book, you will need Mastering Engineering, a web-based software that will be used for homework assignments. Mastering Engineering can be purchased either in a package with Hibbeler's book or separately.

Course outline


We cover chapters 16 to 18 of Hibbeler's book.

Past & future lectures


Tuesday, May 14. Kinematics (Ch. 16 in Hibbeler). Translation and Rotation: Position, velocity and acceleration. General plane motion: velocity. See Sections 16.1, 16.2, 16.3, 16.5.

Thursday, May 16. General plane motion: the instantaneous center of rotation. See Sections 16.6.

Friday, May 17. Tutorial test 1.

Tuesday, May 21. General plane motion: acceleration. See Hibbeler Section 16.7.

Thursday, May 23. General plane motion: Relative motion analysis using rotating axes. See Hibbeler, Section 16.8.

Friday, May 24. Tutorial test 2.

Tuesday, May 28. General plane motion: Relative motion analysis using rotating axes (Continued). See Hibbeler, Section 16.8.

Thursday, May 30. Forces and motion: deriving the 2D rigid-body equations of motion from Newton's axioms (Ch. 17.2).

Friday, May 31. Tutorial test 3.

Tuesday, June 4. Statics and Translation. (Ch. 17.3)

Thursday, June 6.The mass moment of inertia (Ch. 17.1). Rotation about a fixed axis (Ch. 17.4), including the reduction from 3D to 2D.

Friday, June 7. Midterm.

Tuesday, June 11. Rotation about a fixed axis (continued). General plane motion (Ch. 17.5).

Thursday, June 13. General plane motion (continued).

Friday, June 14. Tutorial Test 4.

Tuesday, June 18. Potential and kinetic energy, work, energy conservation (Ch. 18) [Lecture by Dr. Leon Loveridge].

Thursday, June 20. Potential and kinetic energy, work, energy conservation (Ch. 18) [Lecture by Dr. Leon Loveridge] (continued).

Friday, June 21. Tutorial Test 5.

Tuesday, June 25. Review I

Thursday, June 27. Review II

Friday, June 28. Final exam.