Phys 270: Rigid body dynamics in two dimensions

Schedule and practical information


Prerequisites: Phys 170.

Time and location: The class takes place MW 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201. The tutorial is on Friday, same time and place. Start date: May 7, 2012. End date: June 22, 2012

Midterm: Monday, June 04, 2012, 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201

Exam: Friday, June 22, 2012, 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201.

Credits: 2.

Grading: 20% test exams (work/ group work in the tutorials), 20% homework assignments (with Mastering Engineering), 20% midterm, 40% final exam.

Homework assignments (Mastering Engineering) and Tutorial Tests:

All done

Office hour: My office hour is Wednesdays 4:45-5:45 pm (Hennings 338).

Book: Engineering Mechanics, Statics and Dynamics, by R.C. Hibbeler (UBC custom edition is recommended, but any edition will work).

`Mastering Engineering' software: In addition to Hibbeler's book, you will need Mastering Engineering, a web-based software that will be used for homework assignments. Mastering Engineering can be purchased either in a package with Hibbeler's book or separately.

Course outline


We cover chapters 16 to 18 of Hibbeler's book.

Past & future lectures


Monday, May 7. Kinematics (Ch. 16 in Hibbeler). Translation and Rotation: Position, velocity and acceleration. General plane motion: velocity. See Sections 16.1, 16.2, 16.3, 16.5.

Wednesday, May 9. General plane motion: the instantaneous center of rotation. See Sections 16.6.

Friday, May 11. Tutorial test 1.

Monday, May 14. General plane motion: acceleration. See Sections 16.7.

Wednesday, May 16. General plane motion: Rotating axes. See Sections 16.8.

Friday, May 18. ADDITIONAL LECTURE, in place of the tutorial. General plane motion: Rotating axes continued. See Sections 16.8.

Monday, May 21. No class (Victoria day).

Wednesday, May 23. ADDITIONAL TUTORIAL, in place of the the lecture. All of Hibbeler, Ch. 16.

Friday, May 25. Review of Ch. 16.

Monday, May 28.Ch 17: Kinetics of 2D rigid body motion. Section 17.2: Derivation of 2D rigid body equations of motion from Newton's axioms.

Wednesday, May 30. Using the rigid body EoM to solve planar kinetics problems.

Friday, June 1. Tutorial test 4.

Monday, June 4. Midterm exam.

Wednesday, June 6. Mass moment of inertia (Hibbeler, Ch. 17.1)

Friday, June 8. Rotation about fixed axis (Hibbeler, Ch. 17.4) and general plane motion EoMs (Hibbeler, Ch. 17.5): Examples. Tutorial test 5.

Monday, June 11. Work & Energy. Kinetic energy. Work of a force. work of a couple moment. Principle of work and energy. Energy conservation. (Hibbeler, Ch. 18, Sections 18.1 - 18.5).

Wednesday, June 13. Principle of work and energy. Energy conservation, continued. Examples. [END OF COURSE MATERIAL]

Friday, June 15.Tutorial test 6.

Monday, June 18. REVIEW 1: General plane motion - EoM. Examples: Forklift problem 17.37 + friction problem 17.71 (3 moving parts). 30min ``Dynamics concept diagnostic'' test (not graded but good for feedback).

Wednesday, June 20. REVIEW 2: Mass moment of inertia. Discussion of results of ``Dynamics concepts diagnostic'' test.

Friday, June 22.FINAL EXAM. Hennings 201, 8:30AM - 10:30AM (120 min).