Phys 270: Rigid body dynamics in two dimensions

Schedule and practical information


Prerequisites: Phys 170.

Time and location: The class takes place MW 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201. The tutorial is on Friday, same time and place. Start date: May 9, 2011. End date: June 22, 2011

Exam: Friday, June 24, 2010, 8:30 am-10:30 am in Hennings 201.

Credits: 2.

Grading: 20% test exams (work/ group work in the tutorials), 20% homework assignments (with Mastering Engineering), 20% midterm, 40% final exam.

Homework assignments (Mastering Engineering):

Assignment 1: Available: Thu, May 19; Due: Wed, May 25, 8:30AM

Assignment 2: Available: Wed, May 25; Due: Wed, June 1, 8:30AM

Assignment 3: Available: Wed, June 1; Due: Wed, June 8, 8:30AM

Assignment 4: Available: Wed, June 8; Due: Wed, June 15, 8:30AM

Assignment 5: Available: Sun, June 19; Due: Thu, June 23, 8:00PM

Office hour: My office hour is Thursdays 4-5 pm.

Past & future lectures: To browse abstracts click here.

Book: Engineering Mechanics, Statics and Dynamics, by R.C. Hibbeler (UBC custom edition is recommended, but any edition will work).

`Mastering Engineering' software: In addition to Hibbeler's book, you will need Mastering Engineering, a web-based software that will be used for homework assignments. Mastering Engineering can be purchased either in a package with Hibbeler's book or separately.

Course outline


We cover chapters 16 to 18 of Hibbeler's book.

Past & future lectures


Monday, May 9. Introductory remarks. Rigid body kinematics: Translations, rotations and their combination. (Hibbeler, Chs. 16.2, 16.3, 16.5)

Wednesday, May 11. Instantaneous center of rotation (Hibbeler, Ch. 16.6)

Monday, May 16. Relative motion analysis: Acceleration (Hibbeler, Ch. 16.7)

Wednesday, May 18. Relative motion analysis using rotating axes. (Hibbeler, Ch. 16.8)

Monday, May 23. Victoria day - no lecture.

Wednesday, May 25. Relative motion analysis using rotating axes (continued). (Hibbeler, Ch. 16.8)

Monday, May 30. 2D rigid body equations of motion & their derivation from Newton's laws (Hibbeler, Ch. 17.2)

Wednesday, June 1. Examples for 2D rigid body motion: static case, translation only and rotation only. Mass moment of ineritia. (Hibbeler, Chs. 17.1, 17.3, 17.4)

Monday, June 6. General plane motion (Hibbeler, Ch. 17.5) Lecture given by Dr. T.C. Wei.

Wednesday, June 8. Work and Energy: kinetic energy, work of a force(Hibbeler, Chs. 18.1, 18.2) Lecture given by Dr. T.C. Wei.

Monday, June 13. Conservation of Energy (Hibbeler, Ch. 18.5) Lecture given by Dr. T.C. Wei. [End of course material[

Wednesday, June 15. Review I. Lecture given by Dr. T.C. Wei.

Monday, June 20. Review II.

Wednesday, June 22. Review III.