Affleck is awarded the Lars Onsager prize

Professor Ian Affleck

Congratulations to Ian Affleck who has been chosen as the next recipient of the Lars Onsager Prize. This major prize of the American Physical Society is awarded for outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics including quantum fluids. This award recognizes Ian's pioneering role in developing and applying the ideas and methods of conformal field theory to important problems in statistical and condensed matter physics, including the quantum critical behaviour of spin chains and the universal behaviour of quantum impurity systems.

Lars Onsager was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1968 "for the discovery of the reciprocal relations bearing his name, which are fundamental for the thermodynamics of irreversible processes".

Website development by Checkmark Media. Designed by Armada.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
6224 Agricultural Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel 604.822.3853
Fax 604.822.5324

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia